Succumbing to Peer Pressure: The Classics Club Spin # 5 (the first for me).

Well, when three of one’s blog friends who aren’t technically members of The Classics Club sign up for Classics Spin #5 ( a way to help you choose your next classic), it kinda shames one into signing up oneself.

I’ll stop writing like that now.

Here’s my (randomly chosen) list, from my larger List o’ 51, for the Wheel of Fortune to choose from on Monday:

  1. Homer, The Iliad
  2. Thomas Hardy, Tess of the D’Urbervilles
  3. Anne Brontë, Agnes Grey
  4. Nathaniel Hawthorne, The Scarlet Letter
  5. Henry Miller, Tropic of Cancer
  6. Ray Bradbury, The Martian Chronicles
  7. Margaret Atwood, The Blind Assassin
  8. Chinua Achebe, Things Fall Apart
  9. Sherwood Anderson, Winesburg, Ohio
  10. Robertson Davies, The Rebel Angels
  11. Edgar Lee Masters, Spoon River Anthology
  12. Willa Cather, O Pioneers!
  13. Wilkie Collins, The Woman in White
  14. Doris Lessing, The Golden Notebook
  15. Iris Murdoch, The Sea, The Sea
  16. James Baldwin, Another Country
  17. Wallace Stegner, Angle of Repose
  18. Flannery O’Connor, Wise Blood
  19. Sherman Alexie, The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven
  20. Charles Dickens, Great Expectations 

Wish me luck!

20 thoughts on “Succumbing to Peer Pressure: The Classics Club Spin # 5 (the first for me).

  1. LOL! So glad you gave in 😉 I’d really like to read Wallace Stegner as well. I’ve been tempted to still change my list before Monday…anyway, I can’t wait!

  2. The Iliad is one of my top favourites, so I hope you get it. Before I read it, I thought I’d hate it and ended up just loving it! I read Angle of Repose last year and really enjoyed a different style and content for a change. Oh, I have got to read Atwood …… so embarrassing that I am Canadian and have avoided her books after one bad (and youthful) experience.

    Peer pressure is not a bad thing. I have read about 30% more books than I otherwise would have because of peer pressure. 😉

  3. I’m kind of behind. Good list! I’m trying to make up my big list to join the Classics Club. This might give me some ideas. I think I’m a little heavy on early 20th century women writers. I am purposefully trying to be a bit heavy on women writers, though.

  4. Pingback: What Larks!: Dickens Re-evaluated | Rosemary and Reading Glasses

  5. Pingback: The Classics Club Spin #6 (the second for me). | Rosemary and Reading Glasses

What's on your mind? Leave a comment here.